| |
Use the databases on this page to find articles in journals or newspapers, new books to read or download, or information about art or science. These resources are brought to you by the Greenfield Public Library through our membership in the Western Massachusetts Library System (WMRLS), our membership in C/W MARS, or from library funds. All are on the library's Database Computer in the library. Databases you can access from home have a link to the sign-in page. Click on the picture next to the database description to get to the login screen. Contact the Help Desk if you have any questions about how to use these resources. Be sure to take a look at our Recommended Websites page for additional information.
The Greenfield Recorder and Springfield Republican:
Username: greenfield password: library
NewsBank will allow you to access full-text articles from the Greenfield Recorder (coverage from 1997- present) and the Springfield Republican (1988 - current).

Encyclopaedia Britannica:
you will be prompted to enter your Greenfield Library barcode
Welcome to Encyclopædia Britannica Online Library Edition. Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites. In addition to the Encyclopaedia, you will have access to: Encyclopædia Britannica, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, Compton's by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, Multimedia, The Web's Best Sites, Videos, Journals and Magazines, Notable Quotations, Gateway to the Classics.

American Women's History Online, American History Online, African-American History Online, Science Online:
you will be prompted to enter your library barcode number.
American Women's History Online covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States. African-American History Online provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history. Amercian History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Science Online presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Grove Art Online:
you will be prompted to enter your library barcode number
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 2,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
To Top
HeritageQuest Online:
you will be prompted to enter your Greenfield Library barcode number
HeritageQuest Online™ combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.
NoveList:
you will be prompted to enter your library barcode number
NoveList acts as your own personal readers' advisory resource: helping you to match a favorite author or book; explore fiction by genre; browse award winner lists; describe a plot and find a book to match; and read articles about new books and authors.
To access the newspapers from Proquest or the magazine and journal articles in InfoTrac, enter your library card number in the box below. To select a single paper or database, simply click on its name.
Proquest MA Newspapers :
you will be prompted to enter your library barcode number
Use Proquest to access articles from newspapers across Massachusetts.
Newspapers include:
Berkshire Eagle
Boston Globe
Boston Herald
BusinessWest (Chicopee)
North Adams Transcript
Patriot Ledger (Quincy)
Plymouth County Business Review
Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg)
The Sun (Lowell)
Telegram & Gazette (Worcester)
Gazette (Haverhill) 12/31/92 to 8/9/97
Standard Times (New Bedford) 1/4/92 to 8/19/97
|
InfoTrac:
you will be prompted to enter your library barcode number
InfoTrac is broken down into separate units that index magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, sports, medicine, arts and humanities, science and technology; provide company profiles, company rankings, investment reports, market trends; and much more. Search them one at a time or search several simultaneously. InfoTrac now has podcasts available as well as the ability to change the text into one of eight languages. Databases include:
- Academic OneFile (academic journals; contains transcripts and podcasts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC; also includes full-text NY Times content back to 1995)
- Biography Resource Center(includes over 1 million thumbnail biographies)
- Business and Company ASAP (research businesses; no investment analysts' reports)
- Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (essays on contemporary writers; includes biography and list of sources for further review)
- Expanded Academic ASAP (full-text articles on Astronomy, Religion, Lay, History, Pyschology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications, and the General Sciences)
- General BusinessFile ASAP (use to research all business and management topics; directory listings for 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries)
- General Reference Center Gold (general interest database on current events, arts and culture, sports, etc.)
- Health Reference Center Academic (full-text articles designed for nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health research)
- InfoTrac K-12 Junior Edition (for junior high and middle school students)
- InfoTrac K-12 Student Edition (for high school students)
- InfoTrac OneFile (comprehensive periodical resources; content goes back to 1980)
- Kids InfoBits (targets grades K-5 with 75 full-text curriculum related magazines and 7 reference books)
- Educator's Reference Complete (over 300 full-text journals for educators, administrators, and librarians)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (over 20 full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science; can be accessed from the Greenfield catalog)
- Massachusetts History Online (Coming Soon!)
- New York Times 1995 - present (Coming Soon!)
|
To Top
C/W MARS Online Digital Catalog:
Digital materials are the digital versions of print books and include downloadable audio books for listening and eBooks for on-screen reading and movies for watching. Both digital audio books and eBooks can be used on a variety of devices such as PCs, laptops, and supported PDAs; videos can be watched on your computer. This site offers digital audio books in the OverDrive Media Console™ format, eBooks in the Adobe® Reader® and Mobipocket Reader formats, and videos that can be downloaded to your computer. To access digital materials at C/W MARS, you will need:
- A valid library card
- Brief access to the Internet
- Free software for the device on which you wish to use your digital book
Please note that digital books can be enjoyed at home, at work, or when you travel, but are generally not for use on the computers in your library.
MassAnswers:
MassAnswers is an innovative service that lets you ask questions and get answers, in real time, right here on the Internet, from reference staff at some of the best libraries across Massachusetts and the nation. This system combines the immediacy of the telephone and the preciseness of written e-mail with the ability to "look over" the librarian's shoulder and see what he or she sees on screen. Once you submit a question at the right side of this screen, it will be picked up by a Massachusetts Librarian from one of the MassAnswers participating libraries. If all are busy, or if it is off-hours for Massachusetts, a librarian from one of our nationwide cooperating libraries will pick up. These include strong libraries such as the Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg in North Carolina or libraries throughout Los Angeles and Orange Counties, California.
To Top
Ancestry.com Library Edition:
In-library use only
Use the library's membership to access all of Ancestry.com's databases and copies of original records. Look up your family history and find out about your past.
Value Line:
In-library use only
Value Line provides investment research on stocks, mutual funds, options and convertibles, and offers a family of no-load mutual funds.
New England Historic Genealogical Society Vital Records:
In-library use only
With the library's membership you can access many of the databases offered by NEGHS. Clicking on the link below will show you a complete list. http://www.newenglandancestors.org/research/database/default_loc.asp.
To Top |
|