Friends of the GPL

Visit the Friends on Facebook!

Who are the Friends?

The Friends of the Greenfield Public Library are a nonprofit organization whose mission is to support the library by focusing public attention on the library's services, facilities, and needs, and by stimulating gifts to the library of books, endowments and bequests. There are currently over 800 members. Each dues-paying member is allotted a vote at the Friends' annual meeting held in September. A Friends Board, elected by the membership, meets monthly and oversees ongoing projects.

You can become a member of the Friends by sending a donation in any amount to:

Friends of the Greenfield Public Library
402 Main Street
Greenfield, MA 01301

What do the Friends do?
The Friends provide funds for virtually all library programming, including films, book discussions, story hours, writing workshops, and summer reading programs, all of which are free.

Friends provide membership passes to area museums, allowing families to visit them either free or at a reduced charge.

Friends purchase special items for the library, including a new children's circulation desk, new reading chairs in both the adult and children's rooms, as well as a renovation of the library's meeting room. The Friends also support the Homebound Delivery Program and pay for special book purchases to enrich the library's collection.

Friends are responsible for the beautiful gardens and landscaping of the library grounds. They also run the annual Poet's Seat Poetry Contest.

The Friends' newsletter, Notes from the Friends of the Greenfield Public Library, reports on recent activities, and is published four times a year.

Funding for the Friends comes from the annual membership campaign and semi-annual book sales, various raffles, and a major annual fundraising event. A permanent bookcase located near the library entrance doors provides on-going sales of books and other Friends items.

Co-Chair/President: Cindy Pomeroy 2 year
Co-Chair/VP: Cynthia Rothschild 1 year
Corresponding Secretary: Susan Platt 1 year
Recording Secretary: Hope Schneider 1 year
Treasurer: Marianne Snow 2 year

Ellen Berson 1 years
Nancy Buchanan 1 years
Bill Buchanan 1 years
Steve Roberto 1 years
Karen Larabee 1 years
Cyndie Rothschild 1 years
Terry Ruggles 1 years
Clarita Schaffer 1 years

Deb Deskavich 2 years
Hope Schneider 2 years
Roma Hansis 2 years
Mary McDonough 2 years
Jean Wall 2 years
Susan Platt 2 years
Rachel Roberts 2 years

Don McLeod 3 year
Cindy Pomeroy 3 year
Marianne Snow 3 year
Barry McColgan 3 year
Dennis Finnell 3 year

Associate Members
Ann Dillon 1 year
Doni Beauregard 1 year
Marie Beeching 1 year

Martha Greene
Irmarie Jones
Lynne Rudie
Connie Towler